Morris Massre's Blog

Thoughts on South Florida Realty and the Planet in General

Landlord/Tenant Responsibilities

Anyone out there acting as a realtor or those practicing leasing on their own should know this;  tenants will always try to get away with as much as possible on a lease agreement simply because they either do not trust the landlord or just want control.  One of my favorites is when a tenant will want a clause written in a lease where they have the ability to repair anything that breaks down and bill it to the landlord. 

This is taboo as far as I am concerned.  It pretty much leads to the tenant simply calling anyone they wish to in the phonebook without a care as to how much it’s going to cost.  Most landlords, at least the experienced ones, always have someone that they work with that won’t rape and pillage them for a repair.  That is why this should never be allowed by a tenant. 

On the other hand, if you have a deadbeat landlord that never repairs anything, that’s another story.  But how is one to know that?  That is where your agent comes in.  If I had a landlord that I knew was a deadbeat I would do everything in my power to give the tenant the authority to make the repairs responsibly.  Other than that, your next best bet would be to hire a property manager.  As one myself, I have a handful of vendors that I specifically use for these purposes and because of my constant stream of business I get preferential treatment and prices.  Always look for  these types of clauses in the lease or agreement.

Filed under: Real Estate, , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

